New Chair appointed to Victoria SES Board

New Chair appointed to Victoria SES Board

Peter Akers has been appointed as Chair of Victoria State Emergency Service’s (SES) Board of Directors, Minister for Police and Emergency Services and Bushfire Response Kim Wells announced today.

“Mr Akers possesses a great deal of expertise across the public sector, encompassing emergency services finance, local government and previously holding several high profile roles, including CEO of the Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board between 2000 and 2007,” Mr Wells said. 

“A qualified civil engineer, Mr Akers previously served for ten years as a local government CEO for two prominent Melbourne metropolitan councils. As a Director of the Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority (PPWCMA) and Chair of the PPWCMA Audit Committee, Mr Akers brings experience in strategic planning, change management and community engagement. He begins his role with SES this month.

“On behalf of the Victorian Coalition Government, I congratulate Mr Akers on his new appointment and look forward to working positively with Mr Akers in his new role as Chair of the SES board.

“I also take this opportunity to pay tribute to outgoing Chair, Claire Higgins for her outstanding contribution, enthusiasm and service to the SES over the past seven years. Ms Higgins will remain a member of the SES board and continue in her role as the recently appointed permanent Chair of the Country Fire Authority.”

Quick Links