SES board & volunteers Australia Day award winners

SES board & volunteers Australia Day award winners

Congratulations to Barbara Yeoh, recipient of Member: Order of Australia (AM) award in the Australia Day 2017 Honours. Barbara is a long-serving board member of the Victoria State Emergency Service and has been a significant contributor to the changes at VICSES over this time. Barbara's award was made for significant service to public administration and to business, to community health care, and to transport organisations. We congratulate Barbara for her great contribution to VICSES.

Shane Lapworth, Unit Controller at Broadmeadows and Whittlesea Units, was awarded the 2017 Emergency Services Medal.

Shane’s dedication to the Service and to the development of future leaders, through his continual sacrifice of personal time, over an extended period is over and above what is expected of a volunteer.  

Shane is always readily available when volunteers are needed on taskforces and advisory groups.  Over a number of years Shane has conducted himself professionally in all SES activities and is very well respected by his peers. 

His personal contribution towards assisting not only his own community but surrounding communities throughout Victoria in their time of need, such as during the ‘Black Saturday’ bushfires of 2009 and the establishment of the Whittlesea Unit, demonstrates his exceptional commitment and compassion.  Shane inspires a vision of the future for the State Emergency Service.

Shane is well deserving of this honour.  He worked tirelessly as Controller of the Broadmeadows Unit maintaining a high level of capacity while at the same time was instrumental in the establishment of a brand new large Unit at Whittlesea.  Without Shane’s drive and motivation Whittlesea Unit would not be the successful Unit it is today.  
Other recipients of Australia Day awards include:

•    Neil Warren, from Leongatha Unit, was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia.
•    Rob Bishop, Unit Controller at Moorabbin Unit, was awarded the City of Bayside Citizen of the Year.
•    Jackie Ashman, Unit Controller at Yackandandah Unit, was awarded the Yackandandah and district achievement certificate.
Thanks to each of you for your years of service and dedication, your awards are well-deserved. 

Quick Links